V for Vendetta

My wife and I went to the cinema yesterday to watch V for Vendetta. I didn't know much about the movie excepts Natalie Portman was in it. So far, in my view, she has not played in any movie that totally sucked, so I agreed to my wife's suggestion to watch it. Beside, it was a good excuse to get away from the kids on a Sunday afternoon. To my pleasant surprise, Natalie was the only American actress (that I could identify) in the movie. It seemed like everyone else was English. And Natalie tried hard to act like one. I believe this movie is a British production?

I like the movie. It is a story of what could happen to the world left to despots to rule, be it for religious or ideological sake. It shows how terrors are mere perspective that are interpreted through the eyes of the beholder. On the one hand, the ruling party has used terrors to gain control and used constant disinformation and fear to stay in control. On the other, V, the masked man (or was it a masked woman?), used terrors to show that the people have power and to instigate them into rebellion.

We didn't realise until today that yesterday was a day of commemoration of the 3rd anniversary of the start of the war in Iraq. The movie seems to fit this event quite nicely. I bet it would become a cult movie. I would hope that the man behind the mask would become the cult figure but I think Natalie would steal that honor.

Leave a Reply

