Web Version of Kamus Dewan is on the Net!

(Please see Kamus Dewan moved for latest updates.)

Oh, why did it take this long for me to find this gem? I have been looking for a reliable online Malay dictionary for so long and it did not occur to me to type ‘kamus dewan’ in a Google search. That would have directly led me to the Karyanet site which hosts the online Kamus Dewan. Actually, I was trying to see if the word ‘koda’ in my ‘Koda.Karma‘ blog site name is a sanctioned Malay word. Apparently not, according to Kamus Dewan. In retrospect, ‘Kod.Karma’ would have sounded just as good. Oh, well.

Incidentally, Karyanet hosts more than just Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka (DBP) online dictionaries. It is a place for budding writers to publish their original work. Maybe, I should sharpen my Malay writing skills and become a karyawan at Karyanet. I could get paid for doing that.

Karyanet and DBP should be lauded for making the Malay language more accessible. The online Kamus Dewan alone will get me coming back every so often. But the website is rather busy and the navigation is rather bad. It is easier to find the online Kamus Dewan from Google search than the Karyanet menu system! And the popup thanking me for using Karyanet which appears every time I right click on a link (actually not just links, everything) is extremely annoying. You see, I wanted to open the link on a different tab on my Firefox but Karyanet tried to prevent me from doing this. I ended up disabling “Disable or replace context menu” in my Firefox advanced Javascript preference.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Kamus Dewan moved! « Pra.kata
  2. allanm
    Mar 16, 2007 @ 13:09:00

    would you mind telling me how can I to get a word translated from English to Malay. I can’t seem do find any website to do online.

    Reply

  3. Huda
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 20:04:17

    How do I get answers of what and which word means?

    Reply

  4. myusri
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 22:15:01

    A better place is none other than one provided by DBP:

    http://sbmb.dbp.gov.my/knb/cariankata/nb_carian_kata.aspx

    Just put a word in the topmost text box (just above “Medan Carian”), pick “Kamus” under the “Kategori” group and then press the “Cari” button. It will try to match the word you’ve type against all DBP dictionaries (Malay-Malay, English-Malay, English-English, what have you).

    Reply

  5. emah
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 02:33:08

    Thanks a lot….finally I can improve my english…

    Reply

  6. balqis
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 11:23:40

    i wanna seacrh kamus dewan…but i be at here…where can i search Kamus Dewan??

    Reply

  7. myusri
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 00:09:54

    Just go to: http://prpm.dbp.gov.my/
    Just enter a word (Malay or English) you want to search.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

